Due January 3, 2018

2018-2019 Application

Eligibility

All students enrolled in a 4-year American college or university are eligible to apply. Preference is given to qualified applicants from GLCA/ACM colleges. Selection is competitive. A minimum grade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale is required. Acceptance to the program is contingent on completion of at least one semester or term of Japanese language study (or equivalent) prior to departure and on approval of the School of International Liberal Studies at Waseda University.


Application Process

Marunouchi- Becky Lang copy.JPG

Step 1

Download the application packet and instructions. This packet includes essay questions, recommendation forms, a waiver form, and a study abroad approval form. Follow all instructions carefully.

Step 2

Enter the online application portal to begin your application. You will need to create an account. You can save your application and come back to it at any time, but all application materials must be completed and submitted by the deadline. All essays are submitted through the online portal.

 
Tomioka Silk Mills8.jpg

step 3

Gather all necessary documents to be mailed separately from the online application. Refer to the Application Instructions for a complete list of documents needed. 

Remember to give the recommendation forms (2) to your chosen references.  It is especially important to request your recommendations before winter break because professors are very busy at this time of the year.

 

Step 4

Complete all forms. All hard copy documents must be received by the January 3 deadline. The online application must be submitted by 11:59PM on January 3 to be eligible for consideration.

Your home university may have their own internal application for study abroad separate from the Japan Study application. Please contact your study abroad office to determine the deadline for this application.


Campus Representatives & Advisors

Great Lakes Colleges Association

Albion College | Midori Yoshii, Associate Professor of International Studies
(517) 629-0587 | myoshii@albion.edu

Allegheny College | Lucinda Morgan, Director of International Programs
(814) 332-4891 | lmorgan@allegheny.edu

Antioch College | Toyoko Miwa-Osborne, Instructor of Japanese
(937) 319-0103 | tosborne@antiochcollege.org

Denison University | Michael Tangeman, Associate Professor of East Asian Studies
(740) 587-6423 | tangemanm@denison.edu

DePauw University | Hiroko Chiba, Professor of Modern Languages
(765) 658-4599 | hchiba@depauw.edu

Earlham College | Shannon Herbert, Japan Study Program Associate
(765) 983-1883 | herbesh@earlham.edu

Hope College | Andy Nakajima, Associate Professor of Japanese
(616) 395-7885 | nakajima@hope.edu

Kalamazoo College | Rose Bundy, Professor of Japanese
(269) 337-7326 | bundy@kzoo.edu

Kenyon College | Meghan Mason / Marne Ausec
(740) 427-5572 | masonm@kenyon.edu / ausecm@kenyon.edu

Oberlin College | Ann Sherif, Professor of Japanese
(440) 775-8827 | ann.sherif@oberlin.edu

Ohio Wesleyan University | Jim Peoples, Professor of Sociology/Anthropology
(740) 368-3839 | jgpeople@owu.edu

Wabash College | Kay Widdows, Professor of Economics
(765) 361-6321 | widdowsk@wabash.edu

The College of Wooster | David McConnell, Professor of Anthropology
(330) 263-2476 | dmcconnell@wooster.edu

Associated Colleges of the Midwest (ACM)

Beloit College | Susan Furukawa, Assistant Professor of Japanese
(608) 363-2931 | furukawas@beloit.edu

Carleton College | Noboru Tomonari, Associate Professor of Japanese
(507) 222-5955 | ntomonar@carleton.edu

Coe College | David Nordmann, Associate Professor of History
(319) 399-8692 | dnordman@coe.edu

Colorado College | Joan Ericson, Professor of Japanese
(719) 389-6567 | jericson@coloradocollege.edu

Cornell College | Carol Enns, Professor of Psychology
(319) 895-4351 | cenns@cornellcollege.edu

Grinnell College | Mariko Schimmel, Associate Professor of Japanese
(641) 269-4498 | schimmel@grinnell.edu

Knox College | Ryohei Matsuda, Associate Professor of Asian Studies
(309) 341-7241 | rmatsuda@knox.edu

Lawrence University | Laura Zuege, Director of Off-Campus Programs
(920) 832-7354 | laura.b.zuege@lawrence.edu

Macalester College | Satoko Suzuki, Professor of Asian Languages and Cultures
(651) 696-6723 | suzuki@macalester.edu

Monmouth College | James Godde, Off-Campus Studies Coordinator
(309) 457-2350 | jgodde@monmouthcollege.edu

Ripon College | Michele Wittler, Associate Dean of Faculty and Registrar
(920) 748-8119 | wittlerm@ripon.edu

St. Olaf College | Rika Ito, Associate Professor of Japanese
(507) 786-3637 | ito@stolaf.edu

 

Non-Consortial Institutions

Barnard College | Wendy Garay, IISP Associate Dean
(212) 854-1777 |  wgaray@barnard.edu

Northwestern University | Yumi Shiojima, Study Abroad Coordinator
(847) 491-2764 | shiojima@northwestern.edu

Smith College | Maki Hubbard, Professor of Japanese
(413) 585-3446 | mhubbard@smith.edu

Tufts University | Stephen Hall, Foreign Study Advisor
(617) 627-2000 | stephen.hall@tufts.edu

Vassar College | Peipei Qiu, Professor of Chinese and Japanese
(845) 437-5253 | peqiu@vassar.edu

Wesleyan University | Mary Alice Haddad, Professor of Government
(860) 685-4865 | mahaddad@wesleyan.edu